Apr 17, 2021  
2016-17 College Catalog 
2016-17 College Catalog [ARCHIVED]


Accreditation and Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP)

Owens Community College has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission a Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools since 1976.

The Higher Learning Commission granted the College reaffirmation of accreditation in 2012-2013 with the next reaffirmation of accreditation in 2019-2020. Click here for more information.

Owens Community College is a member of the Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP) HLC/NCA. Owens is dedicated to providing its students a superior educational experience. By becoming involved in AQIP, Owens has chosen to be a part of many other institutions of higher education and strive toward a culture that is committed to constant positive change and a continuous quality improvement for our students to be successful.

What is Accreditation?

Accreditation in higher education is a process of external quality review to ensure that a college or university meets established standards. Accreditation involves the process of self-study generating a report about how the college is meeting standards and a review of the college by trained peer reviewers who evaluate the college’s efforts at maintaining standards.

In the U.S., accreditation is carried out through private, nonprofit organizations designed for this specific purpose. Accreditation is required in order for students to gain access to federal funds including student grants and loans. Non-accredited institutions are not eligible for federal financial aid.

Types of Accreditation

  • Regional Accreditation: This involves accreditation by a non-profit organization that reviews colleges and universities within a geographically specific area. The Higher Learning Commission accredits colleges and universities within the states of Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming.

  • Specialized and Professional Accreditation: Specialized and professional accreditation is granted to non-profit organizations that review programs within a narrowly defined profession or field of study. Forty-eight programs at Owens Community College are accredited by a specialized accreditation association.

Accreditation by School

Click each heading to open and close the information.