Jun 02, 2023  
2019-20 College Catalog 
2019-20 College Catalog [ARCHIVED]

Frequently Asked Questions

What do Medical Coding Professionals do?

Medical Coding Professionals code, classify, and index diagnoses and procedures for the purpose of reimbursement, standardization, retrieval and statistical analysis using ICD-10-CM/PCS (International Classification of Diseases - 10th Revision, Clinical Modification and Procedure Coding System) and medical and surgical procedures according to CPT - 4 (Current Procedural Terminology - 4th Edition), and HCPCS Level II (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System).  Develop, implement and monitor procedures to ensure healthcare data integrity. 

How long is the certificate program?

Full time students can complete the program in three (3) semesters (fall, spring and summer).  Credits earned in this certificate may be applied toward the Health Information Technology, AAS (Owens Code: HINF) , if the student wishes to pursue certification as a Registered Health Information Technician (RHIT).

Is the Medical Coding Certificate covered under Financial Aid?

Yes, the Medical Coding Certificate is covered under financial aid.  Owens Community College maintains an Oserve Office on each campus. Oserve is the place for you to ask questions related to financial aid. Contact: 1-800-GO OWENS ext. 7378 or (567) 661-7378 Email: oserve@owens.edu

What do I have to do to get into the Certificate?

Follow the selective health admission process to health science programs.

- view Medical Coding Certificate Information (ZMED)  

Can I take an exam to become a credentialed coder after I complete the program?

You can sit for the Certified Coding Associate (CCA) or Certified Coding Specialist (CCS).  The CCA designation is the entry level of certification.  The certified coding specialist designation, is for advanced medical coders with additional professional experience. Both are offered by the American Health Information management Association (AHIMA).  Visit www.ahima.org for additional information about certification.