The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Owens Community College
  Feb 22, 2018
2017-18 College Catalog


Accreditation and Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP)

Owens Community College has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission a Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools since 1976.

The Higher Learning Commission granted the College reaffirmation of accreditation in 2012-2013 with the next reaffirmation of accreditation in 2019-2020. Click here for more information.

Owens Community College is a member of the Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP) HLC/NCA. Owens is dedicated to providing its students a superior educational experience. By becoming involved in AQIP, Owens has chosen to be a part of many other institutions of higher education and strive toward a culture that is committed to constant positive change and a continuous quality improvement for our students to be successful.

What is Accreditation?

Accreditation in higher education is a process of external quality review to ensure that a college or university meets established standards. Accreditation involves the process of self-study generating a report about how the college is meeting standards and a review of the college by trained peer reviewers who evaluate the college’s efforts at maintaining standards.

In the U.S., accreditation is carried out through private, nonprofit organizations designed for this specific purpose. Accreditation is required in order for students to gain access to federal funds including student grants and loans. Non-accredited institutions are not eligible for federal financial aid.

Types of Accreditation

  • Regional Accreditation: This involves accreditation by a non-profit organization that reviews colleges and universities within a geographically specific area. The Higher Learning Commission accredits colleges and universities within the states of Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming.

  • Specialized and Professional Accreditation: Specialized and professional accreditation is granted to non-profit organizations that review programs within a narrowly defined profession or field of study. Forty-eight programs at Owens Community College are accredited by a specialized accreditation association.

Accreditation by School

Click each heading to open and close the information.